HomeEnglandIrelandNorthern IrelandScotlandWales
New This Month
N. Ireland
National Parks
Tourist Information
Web Links
About Us
Contact Us



In the south-west of Ireland are the counties of Cork and Kerry (South).

621 miles of coastline, and there are islands to visit. Mountains—Ireland’s highest is here—and forest landscapes enhance the countryside. An amphitheatre of mountains known as the “Glenbeigh Horseshoe” offers stunning views.

Ring of Kerry by Barbara Ballard Here is Killarney National Park with its three lakes. The famous Ring of Kerry, a coastal road that goes around the Iveragh peninsula, provides 126 miles of picturesque sea and mountain views. There’s a historic national park, the Skellig islands to visit, prehistoric sites, and a lake to add to the attractions.

Fishing, walking, and international festivals are among the many attractions of this region. One hundred heritage and cultural places tell the story of the villages and countryside. From Cobh there were emigrations during times of famine. Kinsale and Youghal are two of Ireland’s heritage towns. Kells monastery, where the famous illuminated manuscript was produced, is located in the south-west.

Go Back: [Top of Page] [Ireland Home Page]

Be a Destinations-UK-Ireland Sponsor
Our South-west Articles
Blarney Castle
Cork City Gaol Museum
Fota House and Gardens
Timoleague Village and Abbey
Annes Grove Gardens
Preservation of a Heritage

The Dublin Pass is your passport to Dublin, giving you FREE ENTRY to over 30 favourite attractions! Not only does The Dublin Pass offer great value and convenience, it also allows you to be a VIP and skip the queues at Dublin’s major attractions.

Time Search Destinations-UK for Historical Information
© Destinations-UK-Ireland. Reproduction of this work in whole or in part, including images, and reproduction in electronic media, without documented permission is prohibited.
Site maintained by andyfellwalker
England | Ireland | N. Ireland | Scotland | Wales | About Us | Contact Us
United Kingdom England Ireland Scotland Wales