HomeEnglandIrelandNorthern IrelandScotlandWales
New This Month
N. Ireland
National Parks
Tourist Information
Web Links
About Us
Contact Us



The counties in Irelandís north-west area are Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Monaghan, and Sligo.

County Donegal's Bloody Foreland by Barbara Ballard The north-west is probably the part of Irelandís least affected by the passage of time. Although remote from the countryís bustling capital, it is easily accessible and offers a charm and beauty all its own. Irelandís oldest town, Ballyshannon, is in this region. In Donegal is Irelandís second largest Gaeltacht region, a region where Celtic and Gaelic cultures mix and Irish is the first language of the people.

The countryside is stunning. 621 miles of Atlantic coastline insure a wild kind of beauty. Here are the Sliabh League Cliffs, Europeís highest sea cliffs. Mountains and glacial valleys compete for attention. Glenveagh National Park, Irelandís largest, is in this region. Forest trails, island trips, and empty sandy beaches add to the attractions.

The Inishowen peninsula, Irelandís most northerly point, is home to mountains, cliffs, beaches, and prehistoric and Christian relics. A hundred mile scenic drive takes it all in. Here the air is clear and the wind is fresh off the ocean, and the landscape is always dramatic.

Go Back: [Top of Page] [Ireland Home Page]

Be a Destinations-UK-Ireland Sponsor
Our North-west Articles
Cuilcagh Mountain Park

The Dublin Pass is your passport to Dublin, giving you FREE ENTRY to over 30 favourite attractions! Not only does The Dublin Pass offer great value and convenience, it also allows you to be a VIP and skip the queues at Dublinís major attractions.

Time Search Destinations-UK for Historical Information
© Destinations-UK-Ireland. Reproduction of this work in whole or in part, including images, and reproduction in electronic media, without documented permission is prohibited.
Site maintained by andyfellwalker
England | Ireland | N. Ireland | Scotland | Wales | About Us | Contact Us
United Kingdom England Ireland Scotland Wales