Truro is the first Anglican cathedral built in England since St Paulís. On the same site there were four different buildings in four different centuries. The Victorian gothic cathedral foundation stone was laid in 1880. Although the quire and transepts were consecrated in 1887, it was not until 1910 that it was completed. Truro cathedral is the mother church of the diocese of Truro and is dedicated in honour of the Virgin Mary.
Go Back: [Top of Page] [Articles
Near the west door is a tapestry showing Cornish scenes. On the left of the west door is the chapel of unity and peace, next to which is the Jesus chapel. In this latter chapel is a painting of Jesus blessing the industries of Cornwall. A John Wesley window at the beginning of the nave on the right side shows him preaching at Gwennap Pit. Heading into the nave and further on the right is the baptistry which honours the memory of Henry Martyn, the missionary who was born in Truro in 1781.
St Maryís aisle, to the right of the choir and past the south door, is part of the old medieval parish church and still serves that purpose for central Truro. A Bishopís throne is situated in the choir area. The high altar has reredos by Nathaniel Hitch. To the left of the choir is a terracotta panel by George Tinworth titled The Way to Calvary. A private prayer area, the retro-choir, lies behind the choir area.
On the left side of the choir and at the end of an aisle is the chapter house refectory where visitors can purchase refreshments and lunches. A shop is near the west door entrance.
14 St Mary's St, Truro
Tel. 0 1872 276 782 (cathedral office)
Open: Mon-Sat, 7.30am-5pm; Sun, 7.30am-4pm; BH,10am-4.30pm; services every day so check website for times you may walk around and view; guided tours--check website for days and times; restaurant open 8.30am-3.30pm weekdays and 9.30am-3.30pm Sat
Web: Truro Cathedral
Exterior photo of cathedral by Barbara Ballard.
Other photos courtesy Geograph Britain and Ireland as follows:
Church monument and reredos by Derek Voller; south window by Steve Rowe; vaulted roof by Nick MacNeil; west front by Derek Harper