Set in 20 acres of gardens and 400 acres of parkland, originally a deer park, Hanbury Hall, of local red brick, is a William and Mary house dating from 1701. It was built on the bones of an earlier house and added to in a higgledy-piggledy fashion, resulting in a mix of architectural styles over the years. The house was home to the Vernon family. House Tour
The corner pavilions of the house were miniature apartments. The painted ceilings and staircase, for which the house is famous, are the work of Sir James Thornhill, done after the completion of the house.
An orangery was built in later years. In 1776 the gardens and forecourt were taken out and parts of the interior were redone in the neo-classical style. In 1850 the house and forecourt were restored.
The garden is a re-creation of George London’s early 18th century design. The walled garden contains vegetables used in the tea-room. An icehouse, mushroom house, and 18th century bowling green are further features in the grounds. There are walks in the parkland.
Photo orchard by Bob Embleton geograph On “Apple Day” visitors can, for a small fee, go to the apple orchard and fill a National Trust bag with their choice of apples which include Red Victoria, Herefordshire Beefing, Tom Putt, St. Edmund's Russe, and Pitmaston Pine Apple, the latter so named because it tastes similar to a pineapple.
Hall: entrance hall and Painted Staircase: carved balusters and tread-ends; painted walls and ceiling; panelling, archways, columns; marble insert in hall chimney-piece; 1825 north Indian lacquer chests; late 17th century armchairs; early 19th century mahogany side chairs; two giltwood torcheres; early 18th century bureau bookcases; 1770 chamber organ.
Drawing room: painted stencil border on floor; rosewood breakfront bookcase c1830; 1780 painted pier table; 1815 broadwood grand piano; early 18th century lacquered and gilt trim monteith; paintings; Axminster carpet.
Dining room: originally two different rooms; paintings; rococo overmantle; 1830s dining table and chairs; 1800 sideboard.
Smoking room: once the parlour and then called the oak room because of its panelling; original chimney-piece; 1730 Chinese export plates; porcelain collection; northern Persia carpet; paintings and engravings.
Library: done in neo-classical style; carved marble chimney-piece; plasterwork ceiling; decorative paint finish on walls; mid-Georgian mahogany breakfront bookcase; two Regency bookcases; French early 19th century ormolu chandelier.
Blue Bedroom: unchanged since 1720; wool damask hangings; Queen Anne walnut chairs; Dutch marquetry chest of drawers; paintings.
Governess’s room: mahogany serpentine George III chest; 1840 upright Broadwood piano; late Victorian doll house.
Gothick corridors: 1830s gothic patterned paper recreated on walls; late Georgian oak seat furniture; porcelain collection.
Cedar bedroom: painted panelling; 1840 half-tester bed; late Georgian Axminster carpet.
Hercules bedroom and dressing room: 1800 French provincial wardrobe; 1790 Sheraton dressing table; late 17th century Flemish tapestry; corner chimney-piece in dressing room; Queen Anne bureau; Italian crimson lacquer chairs.
New staircase: added in 1988 within shell of Victorian bathroom tower,
School Rd, Hanbury, 4.5 miles east of Droitwich Spa
Worcestershire, West Midlands
Tel. 0 1527 821 214
Open: house, park and garden times vary depending on time of year. For up to date times go to National Trust Hanbury Hall open times; by timed ticket on busy days.
National Trust property; shop; café; tea-room; plant sales; parking; weddings; special events; conferences; dinner parties.
Photo of garden © by Barbara Ballard; other photos courtesy Geograph Britain and Ireland as follows:
Hanbury Hall front by Les Hall; Hall and wall by Andrew Darge; orangery by David Stowell; garden pergola by Philip Halling; orchard by Bob Embleton
The National Trust did not allow indoor photos when we visited.
Go Back: [Top of Page] [Articles